This section contains a brief description of the legal system of Comoros.

Comoros became independent from France on 6 July 1975. In 1997, the islands of Anjouan and Moheli declared independence from Comoros. Mayotte, which is geographically part of the Comoros Islands, is administered by France as an overseas department. Since independence Comoros has suffered more than 20 coups or attempted coups.

In 1999, military chief colonel Azali seized power of the Comoros in a bloodless coup. In terms of the 2000 Fomboni Accords power-sharing agreement, the federal presidency rotates among the three islands, and each island maintains its own local government. Azali won the 2002 presidential election, and each island in the archipelago elected its own president. Azali stepped down in 2006 and President Sambi was elected to office.

In 2007, Mohamed Bacar effected Anjouan island's de-facto secession from the Union by refusing to step down for Anjouanais elections while Comoros' other islands held legitimate elections.

The African Union (AU) initially attempted to resolve the political crisis by applying sanctions and a naval blockade on Anjouan, but in March 2008, AU and Comoran soldiers seized the island.

Following elections in 2010, former Vice-President Ikililou Dhoinine was inaugurated as President on 26 May 2011. A member of the ruling party, Dhoinine was supported in the election by the incumbent President Ahmed Abdallah Mohamed Sambi.

The Comorian legal system rests on Islamic law, an inherited French (Napoleonic code) legal code, and customary law (mila na ntsi). Village elders, kadis or civilian courts settle most disputes.


© Dullah Omar Institute | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions | DOI Constitution
CMS Website by Juizi