This section contains a brief description of the legal system of Guinea.

Guinea became independent from France on 2 October 1958.

The first President Sekou Toure ruled until his death in 1984 whereafter the military under General Conte took over.

Guinea did not hold democratic elections until 1993 when General Conte was elected president of the civilian government. He was re-elected in 1998 and again in 2003.

After Conte died in December 2008 Captain Moussa Dadis Camara led a military coup, seizing power and suspending the constitution.

In September 2009 presidential guards opened fire on an opposition rally killing more than 150 people. In early December 2009 Camara  was wounded in an assassination attempt and evacuated.

A transitional government led by General Sekouba Konate held democratic elections in 2010 and Alpha Conde was elected president in the country's first free and fair elections since independence. 

Guinea has a civil law system based on the French model.

Guinea has a constitution dating from 7 May 2010.

© Dullah Omar Institute | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions | DOI Constitution
CMS Website by Juizi