This section contains a brief description of the legal system of Tunisia.

Tunisia became independent from France on 20 March 1956. The country's first president, Habib Bourguiba, established a strict one-party state. Bourguiba dominated the country for 31 years, repressing Islamic fundamentalism and establishing rights for women.

In November 1987, Bourguiba was removed from office and replaced by Zine el Abidine Ben Ali in a bloodless coup.

Street protests in Tunis in December 2010 over high unemployment, corruption, widespread poverty, and high food prices escalated in January 2011, culminating in rioting that led to hundreds of deaths.

On 14 January 2011, Ben Ali dismissed the government and fled the country. By January 2011, a "national unity government" was formed.

In late October 2011, elections for a Constituent Assembly were held. A new Constitution was approved in January 2014, which includes some due process rights.

Parliamentary and Presidential elections were held in October and December 2014 respectively. The secular Nidaa Tounes party won 85 seats and the Ennahda Movement 69 in the 217-seat Parliament, while Beji Caid Essebsi of Nidaa Tounes won the presidential election.

© Dullah Omar Institute | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions | DOI Constitution
CMS Website by Juizi